Featured Map for 5 June 2017:
Qatar Airways Suspensions


Earlier today, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), and Yemen severed diplomatic ties with Qatar, accusing the oil-rich country located on a Persian Gulf peninsula of supporting terrorism. Libya and the Maldives subsequently joined the diplomatic withdrawal, which also included expulsion of Qatari citizens and suspension of travel between the countries.

Qatar Airways, based at Doha's Hamad International Aiport, has suspended flights to the first four countries and can be expected to suspend flights to Malé in the Maldives as well. (See update below.) Qatar Airways does not currently fly to either Yemen or Libya. Airlines based in a number of the seven countries have suspended their flights to Qatar.

Beyond the suspensions, other Qatar Airways flights may be affected as they may no longer overfly the other seven countries. At the very least they may have to fly longer routes, but the Bahrainian FIR all but surrounds Qatar and losing access to that airspace could ground Qatari flights. For now, Bahrain is limiting transit by Qatari aircraft to a single route.

Today's Featured Map shows Qatar Airways' routes which will be suspended. (Service to Malé has been updated to green to signify that that route is still operating.) Thrice-weekly service to Tabuk, Saudi Arabia, will not start on 19 June 2017 as planned. Tripoli, Libya, and Sana'a, Yemen, are also marked though Qatar no longer serves either location.


References and additional information:


Copyright © 2010-2021 Karl L. Swartz. All rights reserved.
The Great Circle Mapper name and logo are trademarks of the Great Circle Mapper.
All other trademarks mentioned herein belong to their respective owners.
Please see credits for attibutions and further copyright information.

  Follow gcmap on Facebook Follow gcmap on Twitter GCmap on LinkedIn